Scambot 1

keneally store buy cd buy the SE package

Scambot 1 - Mike Keneally

Scambot 1
Mike Keneally

Released 2009

  1. Big Screen Boboli
  2. Ophunji’s Theme
  3. Hallmark
  4. Chee
  5. Tomorrow
  6. Cat Bran Sammich Pt. 1
  7. You Named Me
  8. Cat Bran Sammich Pt. 2
  9. Saturate
  10. M
  11. Cold Hands
  12. We Are The Quiet Children
  13. Foam
  14. The Brink
  15. Life’s Too Small
  16. Behind The Door
  17. Gita
  18. DaDunDa

Calling the first volume of Mike Keneally’s Scambot trilogy “ambitious” might be understating things a bit. For five years Mike held it close to his heart as his main project, employing nine engineers and many musicians at six studios.

“We devoted intense energy to every second of the album,” says Mike. “There is a plot, and a bunch of characters. The CD booklet contains a very long story I wrote which lays out all of the action. Musically speaking, it’s about two-thirds instrumental. It encompasses a little bit of straightforward-ish rock and pop, a lot of rigorous composition and arrangement, some obsessively intricate vocal and instrumental harmonies, some improvisation which has been orchestrated, some digitally-manipulated musique concrete, some purely uncategorizable stuff and, I think, some of the most interesting melodies I’ve come up with. It is a peculiar album but I think very satisfying as a journey, and emotionally it hits a lot of different moods.”

And here’s another clue for you all: Scambot 1, Mike adds, is “dedicated to anyone who still listens to entire albums with their headphones on.”

The video for Hallmark:

Scambot 1 SE - Mike Keneally

Scambot 1 – SE
Songs & Stories Inspired by Scambot 1
Mike Keneally

Released 2009

  1. Intro
  2. Ahmmm…Ms. Loring…
  3. Tiny Red Bug
  4. Tomorrow (Karaoke Mix)
  5. It Begins
  6. Hallmark Fantasia
  7. Broken Chair
  8. Twinge
  9. Saturate (Demo)
  10. Some Crazy Mishap
  11. The 3rd Eye
  12. Hallmark (2006 Mix)
  13. Credits

The Scambot 1 Special Edition includes the complete Scambot 1 CD, plus a second 53-minute CD crafted by Mike entitled Songs & Stories Inspired by Scambot 1, all packaged in an attractive Atticus Wolrab-designed slipcover made of genuine cardboard. This Special Edition is made even more special because Mike is individually numbering and signing the first 3000 copies!

Here’s what Mike has to say about Songs & Stories Inspired by Scambot 1: “This is a very uncompromising album, with a lot of guitar improvisation, demanding sonorities, alien vocal textures, truly insane song structure and many crucial pieces of the Scambot plot continuity. Plus a very entertaining credit sequence. If you are intrigued by the conceptual world of Scambot, it’s heavily advisable to hear both albums.” The great majority of the music on Songs & Stories Inspired by Scambot 1 is unique to it; three of the pieces are remixes of songs from Scambot 1, plus one demo.

keneally store buy download

The Scambot Holiday Special - Mike Keneally

The Scambot Holiday Special
Mike Keneally

Released 2008

  1. The Quest
  2. Holiday Face
  3. The Swordfight
  4. Salve-Dependent Scorpions *
  5. The Owl

A fourteen-and-a-half minute ornament for any holiday season, written, produced and performed by Mike Keneally. Contains two new songs, “Holiday Face” (recorded specifically for this project) and “Salve-Dependent Scorpions” (an alternate take from the Scambot trilogy), framed by three short narrative pieces (as they might have appeared on some surreal alternate-universe ’60s TV holiday special).

Happy holidays!

The download includes a short PDF file with artwork and notes.

* also featuring Evan Francis on alto sax, Rick Musallam on guitar, Bryan Beller on bass and Joe Travers on drums.

Exowax / EX2410 / 2009 (cd)
Exowax / EX2410-1 / 2009 (2cd SE)
Exowax / EX2410-2d / 2008 (download – The Scambot Holiday Special)

The Mike Keneally Discography

The Thing That Knowledge Can’t Eat | Scambot 2 | Inkling | Dancing Demos | Live At Mama Kin | You Must Be This Tall | Mike Keneally Free EP Volume 1 | Mike Keneally Free EP Volume 2 | Wing Beat Elastic-Remixes, Demos and Unheard Music | Wing Beat Fantastic: Songs Written by Mike Keneally & Andy Partridge | bakin’ @ the potato! | Evidence of Humanity | Elements Of A Manatee | Scambot 1 | Songs and Stories Inspired By Scambot 1 | The Scambot Holiday Special | Wine and Pickles | Guitar Therapy Live | Dog | Pup | Vai Piano Reductions Vol.1 | The Universe Will Provide | Parallel Universe | Wooden Smoke | Wooden Smoke Asleep | Dancing | Dancing With Myself… And Others | Nonkertompf | Nonkertalk | The Tar Tapes Vol.2 | Sluggo! | The Tar Tapes Vol.1 | Half Alive in Hollywood | Soap Scum Remover | The Mistakes | Boil That Dust Speck | hat. | Tar Tapes Vol.5 – Your Way Bitchin’ Bonus Tape | Tar Tapes Vol.4 – Drop Control | Tar Tapes Vol.3 – Fashion Poisoning | Tar Tapes Vol.2 – Life’s a Butter Dream/Elephants Walking Under God | Tar Tapes Vol.1 – The Wow Sound of Affable Mort